Jump to content
John Reitman

By John Reitman

Have a great tech? Nominate them for the Golden Wrench Award


Dan Dommer at Ozaukee CC in Wisconsin won the Golden Wrench in 2019.

In an era defined by a shortage of labor from Alabama to Alaska and everywhere in between, it helps to have a team member who can be all things to all people - like Dan Dommer.

The winner of last year's TurfNet Technician of the Year Award, Dommer is the do-it-all equipment manager at Ozaukee Country Club in Mequon, Wisconsin. There, Dommer excels as a mechanic, makes sure mower reels are sharpened to keep pace with Ozaukee superintendent Brett Hosler's aggressive topdressing program, mows and topdresses fairways and oversees all clubhouse maintenance.

Nominations for Dommer's successor are now being accepted for the 2020 TurfNet Technician of the Year Award, presented by John Deere.

Criteria on which candidates are judged include: crisis management; effective budgeting; environmental awareness; helping to further and promote the careers of colleagues and employees; interpersonal communications; inventory management and cost control; overall condition and dependability of rolling stock; shop safety; and work ethic. 

Click here to nominate your equipment manager. The nomination deadline is April 30

Three finalists will be profiled on TurfNet. The winner, who will be named later this year, will receive the Golden Wrench Award and some other good prizes from our new sponsor, John Deere, the details of which are still being finalized.

Previous winners include (2019) Dan Dommer, Ozaukee Country Club, Mequon, WI; (2018) Terry Libbert, Old Marsh Golf Club, Palm Beach Gardens, FL; (2017) Tony Nunes, Chicago Golf Club, Wheaton, IL; (2016) Kris Bryan, Pikewood National Golf Club, Morgantown, WV; (2015) Robert Smith, Merion Golf Club, Ardmore, PA; (2014) Lee Medeiros, Timber Creek and Sierra Pines Golf Courses, Roseville, CA; (2013) Brian Sjögren, Corral de Tierra Country Club, Corral de Tierra, CA; (2012) Kevin Bauer, Prairie Bluff Golf Club, Crest Hill, IL; (2011) Jim Kilgallon, The Connecticut Golf Club, Easton, CT; (2010) Herb Berg, Oakmont (PA) Country Club; (2009) Doug Johnson, TPC at Las Colinas, Irving, TX; (2007) Jim Stuart, Stone Mountain (GA) Golf Club; (2006) Fred Peck, Fox Hollow and The Homestead, Lakewood, CO; (2005) Jesus Olivas, Heritage Highlands at Dove Mountain, Marana, AZ; (2004) Henry Heinz, Kalamazoo (MI) Country Club; (2003) Eric Kulaas, Marriott Vinoy Renaissance Resort, Sarasota, FL.

  • Create New...