Jump to content
John Reitman

By John Reitman

Sign in to follow this  

Nominate your equipment manager for the Golden Wrench Award

Tony Nunes symbolizes just about everything any golf course superintendent would want in an equipment manager.
2017 TurfNet Technician of the Year Tony Nunes, right, does it all at Chicago Golf Club.He can build or fabricate just about anything. He teaches employees how to use equipment properly, then he drives the golf course to make sure they practice what he preaches. He is the go-to person to ensure that everything on the golf course and in the clubhouse at historic Chicago Golf Club is running the way it is supposed to. Tony is held in such high regard that when he was named the recipient of the 2017 TurfNet Technician of the Year, presented by Toro, his co-workers gave him a standing ovation and several members popped in to congratulate him.
If your equipment tech stacks up to Tony, nominate him or her for TurfNet's 2018 Technician of the Year Award, presented by The Toro Co. - the original award for golf course equipment managers.
Criteria on which nominees are judged by our panel include: crisis management; effective budgeting; environmental awareness; helping to further and promote the careers of colleagues and employees; interpersonal communications; inventory management and cost control; overall condition and dependability of rolling stock; shop safety; and work ethic.
Here's a tip: Use specific examples when describing what he or she has accomplished - the more we know, the better your tech's chances of getting noticed.
The winner will receive the Golden Wrench Award (a real gold-plated wrench) from TurfNet and a weeklong training session at Toro's Service Training Center at the company's headquarters in Bloomington, Minnesota.
CLICK HERE to submit a nomination using our online form. All finalists and the winner will be profiled on TurfNet.
Deadline for nominations is April 15.
Previous winners are (2017) Tony Nunes, Chicago Golf Club, Wheaton, Illinois; (2016) Kris Bryan, Pikewood National Golf Club, Morgantown, West Virginia; (2015) Robert Smith, Merion Golf Club, Ardmore, Pennsylvania; (2014) Lee Medeiros, Timber Creek and Sierra Pines Golf Courses, Roseville, California; (2013) Brian Sjögren, Corral de Tierra Country Club, Corral de Tierra, California; (2012) Kevin Bauer, Prairie Bluff Golf Club, Crest Hill, Illinois; (2011) Jim Kilgallon, The Connecticut Golf Club, Easton, Connecticut; (2010) Herb Berg, Oakmont (Pennsylvania) Country Club; (2009) Doug Johnson, TPC at Las Colinas, Irving, Texas; (2007) Jim Stuart, Stone Mountain (Georgia) Golf Club; (2006) Fred Peck, Fox Hollow and The Homestead, Lakewood, Colorado; (2005) Jesus Olivas, Heritage Highlands at Dove Mountain, Marana, Arizona; (2004) Henry Heinz, Kalamazoo (Michigan) Country Club; (2003) Eric Kulaas, Marriott Vinoy Renaissance Resort, Sarasota, Florida.
There was no award in 2008.

Sign in to follow this